Votto to be presented with Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame’s Tip O’Neill Award on Friday

Etobicoke, Ont., native Joey Votto will be presented with the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame’s 2017 Tip O’Neill Award in a ceremony in the Cincinnati Reds media room on Friday at the Great American Ball Park prior to the Cincinnati Reds taking on the St. Louis Cardinals.

It’s the seventh time in eight years that Votto has won the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame’s Tip O’Neill Award.

Remis annuellement au joueur canadien qui a excellé de façon individuelle et apporté une grande contribution à son club tout en adhérant aux plus grands idéaux du baseball.

To determine the winner, the Hall takes into account a number of criteria, including each candidate’s on-the-field performance, contributions to their team, community and charitable endeavors and support in fan voting.

Votto, who shared the Tip O’Neill Award with John Axford (Port Dover, Ont.) in 2011, staved off competition from Seattle Mariners pitchers James Paxton (Ladner, B.C.) and Andrew Albers (North Battleford, Sask.), as well as from Claire Eccles (Surrey, B.C.), who became the first female to pitch in the collegiate West Coast League.

“Joey Votto has had several outstanding major league seasons, but 2017 might have been his best yet,” said Scott Crawford, the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame’s director of operations. “And through his charitable efforts, he continues to be a wonderful ambassador for the game of baseball. We’re proud to honour him with this award.”

Votto narrowly missed out on winning his second National League MVP Award when he finished just two points behind Miami Marlins (now New York Yankees) slugger Giancarlo Stanton in the voting. In 2017, the Cincinnati Reds first baseman topped the National League in on-base percentage (OBP) (.454), walks (134), intentional walks (20) and on-base plus slugging percentage (OPS) (1.032). He also ended up third in the league in batting average (.320), tied for fifth in home runs (36) and sixth in slugging percentage (.578).

The Canadian slugger also set a Reds’ record by reaching base 321 times this season, which broke his own mark of 319 set in 2015. In the field, he topped National League first basemen in assists and was named a Gold Glove finalist. He also became the first Reds player in a non-strike season to start all 162 games since 1975.

For his efforts, he was named to the National League All-Star team for the fifth time and was nominated for the league’s Hank Aaron Award.

Off the field, Votto is heavily involved with the Reds Community Fund, the club’s non-profit arm that’s dedicated to improving the lives of youth. Votto’s generosity toward Walter “Superbubz” Herbert, a six-year-old fan fighting stage 4 neuroblastoma, during a game at Great American Ballpark in Cincinnati on August 31 earned him the MLB Award for Best Player-Fan Interaction. After Votto socked his 34th home run of the year that day, Votto high-fived the youngster and later gave Herbert his bat and jersey. Sadly, Herbert passed away on October 6. Votto attended the visitation, along with hundreds of others, to pay his respects to Herbert’s family.

Votto also regularly visits the Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center and participates in meet and greets with patients and staff at the ballpark throughout the season. He has also been a generous donor to UC Health (Greater Cincinnati’s Academic Health System) with a focus on patients living with post-traumatic stress disorder and he has participated in Make-A-Wish experiences at Great American Ball Park.

After the 2017 campaign, Votto could regularly be found teaching skills to boys and girls at the P&G MLB Cincinnati Reds Youth Academy.

His previous contributions helped lead to the construction and completion of this 33,000-square foot training center. The indoor complex bears his name and hosts year-round baseball, softball, educational and vocational programming.

For all of his efforts, Votto was named the winner of the Lou Gehrig Memorial Award, sponsored by the Phi Delta Theta International Fraternity on March 27. Phi Delta Theta presents this award annually to a major league player who best exemplifies the giving character of Hall of Famer Lou Gehrig, who was once a member of the fraternity.

“I thank the Canadian Baseball Hall of Fame for the honour. I continue to be humbled by this award, because very good baseball players are coming out of Canada,” said Votto. “My countrymen and I thank the Baseball Hall of Fame’s continuing efforts in promoting the game and our players.”

Le prix Tip O’Neill du Temple est dédié à James « Tip » O’Neill, de Woodstock (Ontario), qui a été l’une des premières vedettes des Ligues majeures. Avec les Browns de Saint-Louis de l’Association américaine en 1887, O’Neill a établi des records pour les coups sûrs, les doubles, le pourcentage de puissance et le total de buts, en plus de terminer la campagne avec une moyenne au bâton de ,492, un autre record. Les buts sur balles étaient comptabilisés comme des coups sûrs en 1887, mais si nous calculions sa moyenne selon les standards d’aujourd’hui, elle serait de ,435, bonne pour le deuxième rang de tous les temps derrière Hugh Duffy (,440 en 1894).

Gagnants précédents du trophée Tip O’Neill
1984 – Terry Puhl
1985 – Dave Shipanoff
1986 – Rob Ducey
1987 – Larry Walker
1988 – Kevin Reimer
1989 – Steve Wilson
1990 – Larry Walker
1991 – Daniel Brabant
1992 – Larry Walker
1993 – Rob Butler
1994 – Larry Walker
1995 – Larry Walker
1996 – Jason Dickson
1997 – Larry Walker
1998 – Larry Walker
1999 – Jeff Zimmerman
2000 – Ryan Dempster
2001 – Corey Koskie
2001 – Larry Walker
2002 – Eric Gagné
2002 – Larry Walker
2003 – Eric Gagné
2004 – Jason Bay
2005 – Jason Bay
2006 – Justin Morneau
2007 – Russell Martin
2008 – Justin Morneau
2009 – Jason Bay
2010 – Joey Votto
2011 – Joey Votto
2011 – John Axford
2012 – Joey Votto
2013 – Joey Votto
2014 – Justin Morneau
2015 – Joey Votto
2016 – Joey Votto
2017 – Joey Votto