1947 Muskegon Lassies



During the league’s 11-year run (1943-1954), the ten teams, Kenosha Comets, Racine Belles, Rockford Peaches, South Bend Blue Sox, Milwaukee Chicks, Minneapolis Millerettes, Fort Wayne Daisies, Grand Rapids Chicks, Muskegon Lassies, Peoria Redwings, Chicago Colleens, Springfield Sallies, Kalamazoo Lassies, Battle Creek Belles, and Muskegon Belles travelled the Midwest of the United States playing games, entertaining audiences, and promoting “Recreation for War Workers,” “Femininity,” “Community Welfare,” and “Family Entertainment.

Merrie A. Fidler “Establishing the Public Image: Publicity and Promotion, 1943–1944” in The Origin and History of the All-American Girls Professional Baseball League, (Jefferson: McFarland, 2006), 50–68.