Joe Benson and Kyle Gibson named 2010 Twins Minor League Player and Pitcher of the Year

Sherry RobertsonMinneapolis/St. Paul, MN — The Minnesota Twins announced today that outfielder Joe Benson has been named the 2010 Sherry Robertson (CBHFM 2007) Award winner as the Twins’ Minor League Player of the Year and right-handed pitcher Kyle Gibson has been named the 2010 Jim Rantz Award winner as the Twins’ Minor League Pitcher of the Year.

Benson, 22, began the season at Double-A New Britain and batted .251 (94-for-274) with 20 doubles, seven triples, 23 home runs, 49 rbi, 65 runs scored, 14 steals and 39 walks in 102 games with the Rock Cats. He was transferred to Single-A Ft. Myers on May 17 and batted .294 (25-for-85) with 11 doubles, one triple, four home runs, 13 rbi, 16 runs scored, five steals and eight walks in 21 games with the Miracle, before being promoted back to New Britain on June 16. He combined to bat .259 (119-for-459) with 31 doubles, eight triples, 27 home runs and 62 rbi in 123 games this season.

Lire la suite en cliquant ici.